Poetry in North Carolina, Or Meet Scott Owens and Sara Claytor!

Growing up, I thought North Carolina was a boring place full of boring people.

A few years ago, I realized that I was making a huge mistake – I was waiting for the interesting people and things to happen to me, instead of going out and finding them! Talk about pride, blindness, and pure laziness…..

It’s a simple concept, but one that took me a long time to uncover, while also having a profound impact on my life. If I want good things to happen, I have to make them happen.

This state (and even, believe it or not, the town I live in) is chock-full of talented, dedicated, fascinating and (dare I say it?) eccentric people. We are blessed with an independent, slightly cuckoo common spirit – the kind that makes southern gothic literature so fascinating on the one hand, and gifts the world with profound emotional and spiritual experiences on the other.

The musicians, writers, poets, actors, and performers around here are stunning people. I hope I get the chance to introduce you to a few of them.

Here are two, and I won’t venture a guess about which hand of the spirit they are extending…..Two of the people I have encountered because of the North Carolina Poetry Society are Scott Owens and Sara Claytor. I can mention them together because Scott has a blog you should check out (http://scottowensmusings.blogspot.com/) and his latest post is about Sara.

Two birds with one stone….click through and enjoy!

~ by gypsyjonga on July 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Poetry in North Carolina, Or Meet Scott Owens and Sara Claytor!”

  1. I have that same tendency to downplay my life as less interesting than all the fascinating and exotic other lives out there. Then I realize that I’m in Austin, Texas, where tons of people want to live because it’s all hippie and exotic! Ha! I think anywhere can be fascinating.

Leave a Reply

 
