Feelin’ Good Now, or…. Take Your Own Advice, @*(#&

So what in the world happened?

I let my life get too small.

I know, I know, I know. All this preaching on keeping life big and then I go and drop it. How?

I got too focused. Instead of  living my life in a way that gave adventure an opportunity to open up before me, I put my shoulder to the wheel, my head down, and toiled.

Now, let me make it clear that the work I was doing was VERY important and that I am EXTREMELY proud of what my team accomplished in such a short time to help so many people in our distressed state find employment. I will always look back on the last six months with a feeling that I have made some contribution to the world.

But did I really have to work so much to make it happen? Did I have to pull 50 hours in the office, then take my work home with me to work on every spare moment of my time, beginning a MONTH AFTER MY BABY WAS BORN?

Yeah – I think I might have gotten a little narrow-sighted for awhile there.

But the last month – man, the last month has been amazing. Through a series of events, I was fortunate enough to get a two-month sabbatical. I thought I would go crazy with no work to do, but no…. this is amazing. Here’s how I’m making my life bigger again…

  • Volunteered to clean horse stalls two days a week, just to get outside
  • Planning programs to provide leadership training and afterschool programs to kids on the verge of getting kicked out of school
  • Having parties for kids
  • Beach
  • Kings Dominion
  • Piling all three kids on the beds in the morning and snuggling until late
  • Starting a gig writing about day trips on Examiner.com
  • Brushing up my photography skills
  • Writing, writing, writing
  • Clipping coupons
  • Making a recipe scrapbook
  • Loving my husband
  • Walking with my kids
  • Finding bird nests

So I’m back at my center, and back in touch with me. And I’m gonna work really hard to make sure I don’t get small again.

And for all of you – I hope and pray that you continue to find ways to make your life bigger. Because it gets really hard to breathe when your life is small.

~ by gypsyjonga on August 30, 2010.

3 Responses to “Feelin’ Good Now, or…. Take Your Own Advice, @*(#&”

  1. haha

  2. boom chica wowow

  3. gonna send this to my mom

Leave a Reply

 
